Michael Peter Olsen is a Toronto-based cellist, engineer, producer, film composer and grammy-nominated songwriter who’s experience impressively spans the Canadian music scene and beyond. As a cellist he has recorded and performed on over 100 recordings including Drake VIEWS, Arcade Fire Funeral, K-OS Joyful Rebellion, Jim Guthrie Now More than Ever and The Hidden Cameras The Smell of Our Own.

In 2014 he was selected as one of three songwriters-in-residence for the Canadian Film Centre's Slaight Music Residency, chaired by Oscar-winning composer Mychael Danna.

Recently Michael, with co-writer Ben Fox, composed the music for the first season of the CBC television series “4 in the Morning”, produced by Ari Lantos.

Mike has appeared live and on record with more artists then easily counted. He toured extensively internationally with Hidden Cameras in the early 2000's and has graced the stages and recordings of a diverse mix of artists such as  Haim, Tiesto, Holy Fuck, Zaki Ibrahim, Great Lake Swimmers Slakadeliqs, The Constantines, Jayme Stone, Kevin Hearn, Rheostatics, The Blow, Gentleman Reg,  Slakadeliqs, Mocky, and Sarah Slean.

As a string arranger, engineer, and producer he has worked with The Organ, Emma Lee, K-OS, Spiral Beach, Triple Gangers and Ohbijou Michael fronts an original band called Our Founders which released their critically acclaimed first album in October of 2013. Michael holds an A.R.C.T. and a Bachelor in Music Performance from U of T.